Entry 0xB

[27/08/2022]

It's been a solid time for me. I feel like I've changed for the better. Maybe it's all about the mindset? On the technological side of things I've been having some troubles lately with my beloved Thinkpad X220. It's not that it's been malfunctioning, but I'm quite concerned with how quickly it drains batteries' capacity. I don't think I used them incorrectly, I try not to overcharge them, nor to leave them for too long drained. I've got myself the original one X220 with refurbished, original charger and it shipped with original battery (smaller one with ~50% capacity). So I bought the replacement as a cheap (I believe 20 bucks) Chinese one, 6600 mAh capacity. I always liked the idea of hot-swappability, even back in the day with smartphones, but as of today I can see why society decided that it's too much hassle. You have to take care for both batteries equally to ensure their good life. It sounds easy, but sometimes - you just forget. Let me get to the point then. I've measured the capacity of the second one and lo and behold, it dropped to ~35% percent of its designed capacity. I got quite irritated since it's not that old battery (I bought it about a year ago) and I've been using it quite extensively. I maaaay have left it for some time lying around, but I always ensured to have it decently charged beforehand. So I've no idea HOW to correctly manage batteries with such old hardware (this little fella was manufactured in 2012). On the top of that I thought the internal fan was dying but that was just a mistake on my part (I was messing around with thinkfan).

Tux throwing hardware components out of the vintage PC

> tfw

I've also taken an interest in a different internet communication protocol - Gemini. It's definitely comfy because it's minimalistic and secure by design. Setting up Gemini capsule (equivalent of an HTTP website) takes a few minutes and since it's designed to use Markup language in my opinion it's easier to manage than HTTP website. So I tested it, fell in love with the protocol, but as of time of writing, I don't have the resources to create public capsule. Looking back at how I use Neocities I wouldn't mind creating mirror Gemini capsule for my ramblings. I prefer it since it forces TLS unlike Gopher and when you have opportunity to use encryption even for plaintext sites - why not?

I've to skedaddle for now, but I'll be back. Despite how Internet is nowadays I don't want to lose opportunity to have a small place for myself, because nothing beats the early days of Web 2.0 when everybody had the chance to be creative with websites and not to depend on templates and social media.

[Go back]